

# The Stanley C. Pace Ethics and Leadership Award Overview

#### **Background**

In 1992, the Ethics Resource Center (ERC) received an endowed gift from General Dynamics Corporation to honor Stanley C. Pace, who retired as its Chairman and Chief Executive Officer in 1990. Mr. Pace's emphasis on and leadership of General Dynamics' internal ethics programs set a standard of excellence for industry leaders and the business community.

Through the grant, the ERC established the Pace Distinguished Lecture Series – its first recipient was David T. Kearns, U.S. Deputy Secretary of Education and former Chairman of Xerox Corporation. In 1998, General Dynamics agreed to expand its endowment to embrace and reflect the work of the ERC Fellows Program.

In 1999, General Dynamics and ERC launched the Stanley C. Pace Ethics and Leadership Award, through the auspices of the ERC Fellows Program. The award will honor an individual, or group of individuals, recognized as having unwavering integrity and having demonstrated moral vision and the ability to translate that vision into specific goals.

Additionally, the award was intended to focus global attention to the increasingly critical role of ethics in the conduct of our lives and work, raising issues that help businesses, nonprofits, educational institutions and governmental agencies find practical solutions to today's ethical problems.

Each spring, nominations are sought from all appropriate sectors (corporate, nonprofit, academic and governmental). A call for nominations is distributed through all ERC Fellows organizations; select experts and academics in the business ethics field; the ERC's Board of Directors, supporters and stakeholders; and relevant print and online media outlets. ERC Fellows review the nominations and select the winner through a secret ballot vote at their July meeting.

2006 will be the seventh year of the Pace Award. The Pace Award has been presented at different venues depending on the situation and wishes of the recipient. As originally conceived, the Pace Award is to be presented to the recipient as recognition of exemplary ethical leadership.

## 2000 Pace Award

The 2000 Pace Award was given to the five founders of Transparency International. A senior representative from the ERC traveled to the annual membership meeting, and made the presentation to the awardees. One award was given to all five members.

Venue for Presentation: Transparency International's annual meeting in Canada

Presenter of Award: Irving Bailey II, Chairman of the ERC Board of Directors

## **2001 Award**

Sir Mark Moody-Stuart, former CEO of the Royal Dutch/Shell Group of Companies, (Pace Award 2001) was retired at the time of his selection, and at the request of Shell, a special dinner was planned for the presentation of his award.

Venue for Presentation: JW Marriot, Washington, DC

Presenter of Award: Stephen D. Potts, Chairman of the ERC Fellows Program

### 2002 Pace Award

Ira A. Lipman, CEO of Guardsmark, LLC received the 2002 award. At the request of Guardsmark, a special dinner was held in New York City for the presentation of his award.

Venue for Presentation: The Harvard Club, New York City

Presenter of Award: Charles E. M. Kolb, President, Committee for Economic

Development and Stephen D. Potts, Chairman of the ERC

Fellows Program

### **2003 Pace Award**

John E. Pepper, Retired Chairman and CEO of The Procter & Gamble Company, received the 2003 award. This event was held in Washington, DC in conjunction with the opening reception for the ERC Fellows January meeting. Hors d'oeuvres, cocktails and dessert was served.

Venue for Presentation: The Chevy Chase Club, Chevy Chase, Maryland

Presenter of Award: David Abshire, President, Center for the Study of the

Presidency

#### 2004 Pace Award

Norman R. Augustine, Retired Chairman of Lockheed Martin, received the 2004 award. The award was presented at even in Washington, DC, in conjunction with the opening reception for the ERC Fellows January meeting. Dinner was served and the even was

hosted by Lockheed Martin, at their request. Several Lockheed Martin board members and executives were present, along with ERC Fellows members. ERC provided limited staff support in working with Lockheed Martin to arrange the event.

Venue for Presentation: Normandie Farm Restaurant, Potomac, MD

Presenter of Award: Stanley C. Pace, Retired Chairman and CEO, General

**Dynamics Corporation** 

#### 2005 Pace Award

Aaron Feuerstein, Retired Chairman, President and CEO of Malden Mills received the 2005 Pace Award.

Venue for Presentation: The Chevy Chase Club, Chevy Chase, Maryland

Presenter of Award: Paul Fiorelli, Academic Invited Fellow from Xavier

University (nominator).

### 2006 Pace Award

Mr. Charles Bowsher, Former Chairman of the Public Oversight Board and Former Comptroller General of the United States received the 2006 Pace Award.

Venue for Presentation: Strathmore Mansion, North Bethesda, MD

Presenter of Award: Kathryn Riemann, Chief Compliance Officer, Citigroup,

Global Consumer Group (nominator).

### 2007 Pace Award

The Honorable Stephen Potts, Associate Counsel to the President of the United States received the 2007 Pace Award.

Venue for Presentation: Westfields Marriott, Chantilly, VA

Presenter of Award: Stephen Kasloff, Vice President, Inspection Regulatory and

Compliance Division